Ironic Sardonic

Standard

I take things too personally, things that are such a far shot from having something to do with me. If something goes wrong with something around me, or people are annoyingly critical of a broad concept under which I’m vaguely classified, I get defensive. I take it personally.

Needless to say, it’s not healthy for me to feel guilt and vulnerability with the comedy of errors in building a new football stadium at the south end of town. When people complain about Calgary’s cost of downtown parking I get riled up and want to go on a tirade in favour of the urban and/or car-free lifestyle. I feel like flipping people off when my national stereotype is quaintly pointed out as polite – when, in day to day living – I am polite and unnecessarily apologetic on things for which I have no fault.

The let-it-be mindset is something to strive for, and I wish I could not take things upon my shoulders in the first place so I wouldn’t need to brush them off. And since I put an effort to do that, to live and not get pissed off, it sure…pisses me off when people bash that as being weak and void of responsibility. Fuck you.

Leave a Reply

