Commemmorating Our Most Boring Moments

Standard

I wish every day were Hourly Comic Day. That was a lot of fun. Well, doing that every day would be more than an annoying hassle and very distracting from other things, but it would be nice to celebrate that way more often. I suppose I don’t need a special day to draw comics every hour on the hour. Okay, so I don’t even need Hourly Comic Day to draw hourly comics. It’s just an excuse not to do it other days of the year. I need to scrap that excuse and do that more often.

See, this is all part of lost opportunities to record a thought somehow. The flaw of organic sentience is that not every thought is recorded before it is lost. Think of the magnitude of all the brilliant ideas that have disappeared almost instantaneously to their conception. If you’re the creative type think of all the ideas you never had a chance to write down, and subsequently turn into something of substance.

When the idea is mundane and not creative – as the results of Hourly Comic Day tend to be – it’s at least a stress reduction method that makes something of tedium. Something may come out of these anyway. In my recent purging ritual I decided to keep a barely-used notebook, ripping out the pages with outdated useless things, to take with me so I can write thoughts and emotions down, and turn them into a deeper piece of prose. Sometimes it’s a paragraph, sometimes it’s a page. It’s usually around a very preoccupying topic for me, but vague enough to mean more than the specific situation. But even with the resolution to put this into practice, there’s still a lot lost. There are still things that seek to rot my brain with meaninglessness that I don’t coax into becoming something. This is when I want to jab a pen in my eye rather than apply it to paper.

If I were pressed by a voluntary ritual observance I would probably make a little more out of the completely useless. It’s making something out of nothing – the genius of creativity that has fuelled much of the growth and sophistication of human societies since the establishment of what we call “civilization”. Some people build upon past people’s work – stand on the shoulders of giants – but as fundamental as that is to improving the wider quality of life, we must not forget our roots, creativity’s origins, and continue to be inspired by and produce something out of the really, really fucking boring moments we live.

Leave a Reply

