The Meme Monster

Standard

Yes, the Meme Monster. I wrote about discovering the spread of this image last Hanukkah, and as the sun sets and the eight-day holiday begins this calendar year I decided to do a quick search on Twitter for this image. I was already in a rotten mood, so what did I have to lose? Well, someone with 15k followers tweeted a cropped version of the image:

which is definitely the same one given the shitty photoshopping job erasing the gun Han Solo holds in the parent image. Not only did this media personality tweet that, wherever she got it from, but the attitude of swiping things without considering origins prevails:

 

As written in last year’s post, I acknowledge that this isn’t my original idea – it’s parody, taking something widely recognized and modifying it for a humourous twist. I never want to make money off of this because a) I did a shitty job in photoshopping, b) it’s a parody and not my original concept, and c) I’m probably not the first person to make this joke. It would be nice, though, to be told I once had a good idea and people are glad I made something.

It would also be nice to have thousands of followers on Twitter, but I think I have to start stealing things first.

2 thoughts on “The Meme Monster

Leave a Reply

