Adventurous Travels into Personal Branding and Hyper-Marketing

Standard

I was never one to overstretch things on my curriculum vitae, which is perhaps why it took me years to be the least bit optimistic about my career. Things are better now, I can happily say, so there’s no far less worrying about my personal brand now than there was less than a year ago.

But Wait – There’s More!

The images we create are not just about job interviews and career advancement. It’s how we develop personal relationships, how we improve our own safety, and how we can maintain our health. In the general public sphere of ideas bouncing around, it’s also a factor in whether what we say is absorbed, or even noticed. Everyone can express opinions, so we need to make ours look more important than the rest.

But, like in the job market, the standard voice of authority works strongly in favour of the white educated well-paid man. (Several white educated men who may not be well-paid would jump at this to share their personal experiences AS SOLID DISPROOF that it’s not the exact opposite, if I were a voice they deemed worth listening to.) The idea that social problems and policy and the solutions that ensure “progress” are pieced together by measurable social data is ludicrously flawed. And, as stated above, I have training and experience in this area.

Social statistics are fundamentally biased towards people who don’t feel threatened by being honest – the people who already have privilege, whose opinions won’t rock the boat. The people who have privilege would trust the institutions propping this privilege up, including government and prestigious universities and even the science of statistics itself. This mathematical discipline thinks it’s air-tight. In what we can objectively measure through relationships to repeatedly proven markers (the sizes of atoms, scales of temperature, rings of trees, carbon dating), statistics is how we get answers. Humans, though, are not objectively measurable. We have relationships to unstable markers. Our answers are all within the biases of both the person expressing them in the subjectivity of language, and the person recording them in the subjectivity of categorization.

I could get that across better if I touted myself as being a pro. I did work for years in collecting data for large-scale studies. I do have a degree in sociology.

I also have an educational background and vested professional interest in human rights law, so I KNOW what I’m talking about in enforceable law!

I ever so selflessly volunteer in community building and social justice, so I’m at the ground level of this harsh reality, man.

I’m an early adopter of online social media (let’s hide the fact that it’s only been five years since I joined Twitter out of a possible eight) and I grew up in a three-generation household (if you define Gen X as up to 1979 and Gen Y as 1980 and beyond) so yes, I’m practically a guru on the implications of technological change across age brackets.

Hey, I’ve worked in politics, Bub – at a voting table in an election this one time, and I counted the FUCK out of those ballots.

Je suis une artiste – a professional wedding photographer (against my own wishes, long story), but I also use my photography skills to build a unique grand project that’s over 15 years in the making as a post-modern conceptual artist.

I’m not a fashionista because my wardrobe and demeanour transcend style. I paint my face every morning based on how I feel on the inside, not how a magazine tells me I should.

I’m multi-lingual (see français above) and extremely gifted in the language of mathematics beyond what a calculator can do.

I guess one of the biggest flaws of my personal brand is that I can’t keep talking about myself with a straight face. There are so many more places I can go with my skills and what makes me unique from everyone else. I’m above and beyond the rest on above and beyond the list I’ve gone above and beyond to write up for you, the reader, here.

I could never put this up on a resume or as part of an official profile for a networking site. Maybe I’d put it up on a dating site just to scare men off. And I didn’t even mention feminism in these touts.

Leave a Reply

